Western Collegiate Softball Association

Home Page

Western Collegiate Softball Association

Welcome to the home of the Western Collegiate Softball Association.  The WCSA, operating under the Alberta Intercollegiate Woman's Fastball Association (AIWFA), is the governing body for seven elite western Canadian collegiate softball teams from Alberta and Saskatchewan post secondary schools.  WCSA teams include the University of Calgary Dinos, the University of Lethbridge Pronghorns, Mount Royal University, the University of Regina Cougars, the University of Saskatchewan Huskies, the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology Trojans and new in 2014, the Briercrest College Clippers.  WCSA teams play within their own league, host and visit American NCAA and NAIA teams during September and October and then play for the league championship.  The 2014 WCSA Championships were October 4 & 5 in Strathmore, Alberta, see below for details. WCSA league champions then have the opportunity to play for the Canadian Collegiate Softball Championship. The 2014 CCSA National Championships were hosted by the University of Calgary Dinos at Shouldice Park in Calgary, October 10 -13, visit the Nationals Page on this website and the Canadian Collegiate Softball Association for more information. With the 2014 season wrapped up the WCSA is already making plans to build upon it's success to make the 2015 season even better. Opening weekend this year will see at least one more team in the league as the University of Alberta is expected to play a complete schedule following their 'exhibition only' 2014 schedule. With at least one more team, the WCSA 2015 schedule will be even busier than 2014's with more games and greater competion from the first pitch to the final Championship game. We are looking forward to it and we hope you are too.   


Calgary Finds Gold at WCSA 2014 Championships

2014 WCSA Championship Wrap up

Well for the second straight year, the team that dominated the regular season failed to win the league Championships. For the second straight year, the winning team started Sunday in the Page 3-4 game.
After going 18 - 2 in the regular season, and then winning 3 straight preliminary round robin games, and then the Page 1-2 playoff against the U of S, Regina had a berth in the Championship game.
After going 2 - 2 in the round robin, the U of Calgary found themselves in the 3-4 game against SAIT, and the game was close ( 2 - 0 ) until Calgary broke it open in the 6th, winning 8 - 0.
Advancing to the semi against Saskatchewan, Calgary jumped into an early lead, but Sask took the lead by scoring 4 in their half of the 4th inning. Single scores in the 5th, 6th, and 7th innings, saw the Dinos win 6 - 4 against a determined U of Sask team.
This set up the final with both teams sending their top pitchers ( Caytlin Edge and Alyssa Taylor ) to duel against each other for the 5th time this season. Calgary scored first in the second inning, and added another in the 3rd.  The 4th inning was big for Calgary as they scored 3 more. Regina scored 1 in the 6th, and was threatening, but left 2 stranded. The game ended when Caytlin Edge struck out Regina's final batter in the 7th, and Calgary won their first league title since 2004. Final score Calgary 5 Regina 1.
Championship Final Standings
1) Calgary
2) Regina
3) Saskatchewan
4) SAIT Polytechnic
5) Briercrest
Calgary by virtue of the win, will receive an invite to the 2015 Nationals.
Regina previously qualified for a berth to the 2015 Nationals by being the regular season title winners.

2015 Season Opener


Like the WCSA on Facebook